Scotland celebrate joint-winning the 2015 World T20 Qualifiers trophy after the final against the Netherlands was washed out in Ireland // Photo Cricket Scotland

The Scotland’s men’s team congregated at Murrayfield Golf club, Edinburgh before their departure to the Desert T20 in January, for their annual awards ceremony. 

Former Scotland batsman Fraser Watts was the master of ceremonies for the evening and hand out the awards. 

Recently named Scottish captain Kyle Coetzer won Batsman of the Year, making it back-to-back awards to go with his 2015 HK More Batting Trophy.

Con de Lange was the recipient of the Bowler of the Year and is Coetzer’s new deputy, named vice-captain on the day Coetzer took office. 

Richie Berrington scooped the Fielder of the Year award after another excellent season in the outfield. 


Man of the Match Award, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier // Kaylan Geekie Images

The prestigious Players’ Player of the Year award also went to Kyle Coetzer, making it a double for the evening and adding to his trophy cabinet.  

Former skipper Preston Mommsen was also honoured for his services to the national team and has vowed to remain ‘part of the furniture’ in Scottish cricket circles.

The 29-year-old helped Scotland to achieve their goal of competing in Australia and New Zealand at the ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup.

Mommsen had an impressive tournament in New Zealand in January during the 2014 Qualifiers, scoring 520 runs in eight innings – and claiming Player of the Tournament.

He hit his highest score of 139*  against the United Arab Emirates in the Final which led to him winning the prestigious ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year, at the LG Awards in 2014.

He captained the Scots to the 2016 ICC World Twenty20 in India last year, where they won their first global tournament match, beating Zimbabwe by 11 runs in Nagpur.

Grange field

Grange CC, Edinburgh during the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers // Kaylan Geekie Images

The Saltires booked their place at the World Cup after they shared the ICC World T20 World Cup Qualifiers trophy with the Netherlands at the tournament in Scotland and Ireland.

Last year Cricket Scotland was awarded the top prize in the ICC Development Programme Annual Awards 2015, claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme Award.

For a nation not accustomed to winning silverware, the national governing body, teams and players, have become accustomed to success.

Players Awards for 2016: 

Fielder of the Year – Richie Berrington

Batsman of the Year – Kyle Coetzer

Bowler of the Year – Con de Lange

Players’ Player of the year – Kyle Coetzer 

HK More Batsman of the Year – Kyle Coetzer