Scotland team announced for ICC Women’s Global Qualifier in Sri Lanka


Scotland captain Abbi Aitken will lead the team to the ICC Women’s Global Qualifier in Sri Lanka // Photo: Donald MacLeod, Cricket Scotland

The squad set to represent Scotland at the ICC Women’s Global Qualifier in Sri Lanka has been announced. 

Abbi Aitken leads the side and will be well supported by the experienced Kari Anderson, who has been announced as vice-captain for the tour.

Seam-bowler Priyanaz Chatterji is the only change from the squad that travelled to Thailand for the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2015.

Top-order batter Fiona Urquhart will travel from Sydney where she has been representing Gordon Cricket Club, while Kathryn Bryce concludes her stint with the Melbourne Stars at the Women’s Big Bash League.

Katie McGill and Kari Anderson will both make their way from New Zealand where they have been representing Northern Spirit.

Scotland captain Abbi Aitken said, “It was an extremely difficult selection process this time around, and that’s credit to every member of the wider squad for the brilliant efforts and attitudes shown throughout the preparation months.

“The final 14 selected have a good variety of skills to offer as well as a good balance of youth and experienced players.

“The squad is very clear on our aims and aspirations for the tournament and what is required of us in order to achieve them.”

Scotland will face some world-class opposition in Group B, being joined by the likes of Pakistan and South Africa.

The squad will depart on the January 29th to prepare for Sri Lanka with a short visit to the UAE where they will contest two warm-up games against Ireland at Sharjah Stadium. 

She added: “Whatever the outcome, the experience and opportunity is huge and we will be going out there to do our country proud.”

The tournament will run from 7-21 February at four Colombo venues. The sides finishing in the top four of the Super Six stage will join defending champion Australia, host England, former winner New Zealand and reigning ICC World Twenty20 champion West Indies in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 from 26 June to 23 July.

Asian champions and former World Cup finalists India leads Group A which also includes Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand, while South Africa heads Group B which comprises Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea (PNG).

Each side will play four matches in the first round, following which the top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, while also carrying forward points they earn against sides which have progressed to the Super Six stage from their group.

The top four sides from the Super Six stage, in which each side will play three matches against teams from the other group, will complete the eight-team line-up for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, while the top two sides will battle out for the title in the 21 February final.

Scotland Squad:  Abbi Aitken (c), Kari Anderson (vc), Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Kirstie Gordon, Samantha Haggo, Lorna Jack, Abtaha Maqsood, Katie McGill, Liz Priddle, Ollie Rae, Rachel Scholes, Fi Urquhart

Scotland Fixtures
Scotland v Zimbabwe – 5 February at Colombo Cricket Ground

Scotland v South Africa – 8 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground

Scotland v Bangladesh – 10 February at Colombo Cricket Ground

Scotland v PNG – 11 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground

Scotland v Pakistan – 13 February at Mercantille Cricket Ground


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s